PORT LOUIS
Port Louis is a settlement on north-eastern East Falkland. Port Louis has was the first settlement (French) in the islands and has a rich history. In 1767, the Spanish, under the jurisdiction of the Viceroyalty of Buenos Aries, took over from the French naming the East Falklands Soledad (solitude) and Port Louis 'Puerto Soledad'. After the British reasserted their rights to the islands in 1833, Port Louis or 'Anson's Harbour' became their administrative centre until by 1845 they had relocated to the new town of Stanley.
In 1841 Lieutenant Richard Clement Moody, at the age of 28, arrived at Port Louis or 'Anson's Harbour' and was to be appointed first Governor of the Falkland Islands on 23 June 1843. He converted Bougaineville's stone chapel into a Government House. In 1841 John Bull Whitington arrived at Port Louis, along with 16 colonists, 2 children, 12 sheep and 2 pigs, to take control of land bought by his brother from Captain Langdon, a naval officer and colonist with estates and interests in Tasmania, and who had twice called on Vernet at Port Louis en route. Moody did not get along with Whitington for long with Moody protesting Whitington's treatment of employees. Whitington was notably one of the first to farm sheep in the islands and remained at Port Louis until 1849 when he and his family too relocated to Stanley. After the administrative centre moved to Stanley Port Louis declined in importance and Whitington's land devalued. Port Louis was next leased by Robert Packe (arriving in the islands in 1851). Packe introduced large scale sheep farming to the Falklands. Finally Port Louis was farmed by Robsons until the 1940's when it became the 'Estate T. Robsons', owned and shared by many landlords.
Today Port Louis is owned by P & M Gilding. In 2018 it had a population of 3 and carried 8241 sheep.
|